Crusader Athletes Make College Decisions

Two Crusaders have decided to continue their athletic careers at the next level. Senior defensive end Brendon Hayes ’15 recently ended his recruitment when he pledged to the University of Central Florida. Hayes says he plans to major in mechanical engineering and will enroll starting this summer. Hayes also had offers from Washington State and Wake Forest. Brendon played a crucial part in the success of the 2014 Brother Martin Crusader (10-3) football Read more »

Crusaders Named to All-District Team

Congratulations to the following Crusader student athletes for being selected to the Coaches’ 9-5A All-District Team: Defense Roderic Teamer SS Jonathan Parker LB Brendan Hayes DL Offense Jeremy Singleton WR Rory Luke OL Jared West RB Read more »

Morning Spirit

On the morning of one of the biggest football games of the year, the Student Council led a small spirit rally to get the ‘Sader nation excited.  The Benson Mall was rockin’ as the Crusader Band marched the halls of the school and performed Neck and the Crusader Fight Song.  Head Coach Mark Bonis talked about the significance of this game and led the student body in a cheer. The fifth-seeded Crusaders (9-2) will play No. 4 seeded Catholic High Read more »

Crusaders Crush the Eagles in Playoff Opener

Brother Martin opened the Division I playoffs with a 63-21 victory against No. 12 Shaw on a chilly Friday night at Joe Yenni Stadium. The Crusaders dominated the first half scoring 42 of its 63 points in the opening two quarters of play. The Crusaders came out of the gate fast scoring on its first drive as they drove 37 yards in three plays finishing with a West 19-yard scoring TD. On their next possession, Broggi found Kyler Johnston for Read more »

Football Falls to the Raiders

The final district game of the season took place Saturday afternoon at Joe Yenni Stadium.  With a win, the Crusaders (8-2,3-2) would earn a share of the district title, but came up short in a 45-24 loss to the Rummel Raiders. Brother Martin opened the game with a 72-yard, 8-play drive on a Broggi QB keeper and a 7-yard score.  Jared West helped set up the scoring TD with a 17-yard rush and 30-yard screen pass. The Raiders countered with a 28-yard Read more »

Football Championships
1969-1970 – Miracle Strip Bowl
1971-1972 – District, State
1972-1973 – District
1975-1976 – Shrimp Bowl
1977-1978 – District
1978-1979 – Turkey Bowl
1983-1984 – District
1985-1986 – District
1989-1990 – State Runner-up
1992-1993 – District
2007-2008 – District
2008-2009 – District

The Football Program consists of five levels of competition: seventh grade, eighth grade, ninth grade, junior varsity, and varsity. Team selections for the varsity and junior varsity teams are made through a tryout process.

Participation at the junior high and ninth grade levels is limited only by medical or physical concerns.

Get to know your Crusader Football Leaders!

Crusaders charge the field against Rummel

Crusaders charge the field against Rummel



Mr. Mark Bonis – Head Coach
Mr. Tommy Clapp ’83 (C)
Mr. Justin Franks
Mr. Dalton Hilliard ’09 (C)
Mr. Mike Leblanc – Offensive Coordinator (C)
Mr. Jeff Lupo ’92
Mr. Jon Norris – Defensive Coordinator
Mr. Aaron Paladino
Mr. Daniel Roane
Mr. Ryan Zeringue

Freshmen Coaches:
Mr. Richard Bourlet (NF)
Mr. Jeff Howard (NF)
Mr. Don Riley (Head Coach) (C)
Mr. Malcolm Robinson (C)
Mr. Jon Zeringue ’09 (NF)

Junior High Coaches:
Mr. Sal Brocato ’88 – (Head Coach – NF)
Mr. Michael Cappo ’00
Mr. Joey Lupo ’99 (NF)
Mr. Stephen Lewis ’03
Mr. Duffy Rousselle
Mr. Scott Senner (NF)
Mr. Chris Stromboe ’98 (NF)

Film Manager - Mr. Stephen Lewis ’03
Equipment Manager - Mr. Daniel Roane

(C) CECP Coach
(CS) College Student
(NF) Non-Faculty